Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee
Bredesen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education (UTK-ORNL)

Frequently Used Tools:




ITER 3D plasma equilibrium
This figure shows the ITER plasma surface and toroidal magnetic field coils.
Bioenergy
An atomistic model of cellulose (blue) surrounded by lignin molecules (green) comprising of a total of 3.3 million atoms.
Energy
Global water vapor
The proper simulation of the distribution of water vapor in the climate system is essential to the accurate treatment of the hydrological cycle and the planetary radiation budget.


Bredesen Center Faculty

The Bredesen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education has assembled its faculty of world-leading researchers with impressive credentials from across the energy-related sciences. They are fellows in the most prestigious professional societies, their highly cited research is published in the preeminent journals of science and engineering, and they are technological innovators with numerous patents to their credit.

  • Nuclear Energy
  • Bioenergy and Biofuels
  • Renewable Energy
  • Energy Materials
  • Energy Conversion and Storage
  • Distributed Energy and Grid Management
  • Environmental and Climate Sciences
  • Energy Geography
  • Transportation Sciences
  • Cross-Cutting Energy Sciences
  • Nuclear Energy


    Ted BesmannTed Besmann
    besmanntm@ornl.gov
    Materials Science and Technology Division
    ORNL

    Jess GehinJess Gehin
    gehinjc@ornl.gov
    Reactor and Nuclear Systems Division
    ORNL

    Robert GrzywaczRobert Grzywacz
    rgrzywac@utk.edu
    Department of Physics
    UTK

    Jason HaywardJason Hayward
    jhayward@utk.edu
    Nuclear Engineering
    UTK

    Witek NazarewiczWitek Nazarewicz
    witek@utk.edu
    Department of Physics
    UTK
    Joint Faculty with ORNL

    Mark WilliamsMark Williams
    williamsml@ornl.gov
    Reactor and Nuclear Systems Division
    ORNL

    (Back to Top)

    Bioenergy and Biofuels


    Joe BozellJoe Bozell
    jbozell@utk.edu
    Department of Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries
    UTIA

    Abhijeet BoroleAbhijeet Borole
    borolea@ornl.gov
    Biosciences Division
    ORNL

    Steve BrownSteve Brown
    brownsd@ornl.gov
    Biosciences Division
    ORNL

    Barry BruceBarry Bruce
    bbruce@utk.edu
    Department of Biochemistry and Cellular and Molecular Biology
    UTK

    Jay ChenJay Chen
    chenj@ornl.gov
    Biosciences Division
    ORNL

    Brian DavisonBrian Davison
    davisonbh@ornl.gov
    Biosciences Division
    ORNL

    Nicole LabbéNicole Labbé
    nlabbe@utk.edu
    Center for Renewable Carbon
    UTIA

    Joe BozellJoe Bozell
    jbozell@utk.edu
    Department of Forestry, Wildlife and Fisheries
    UTIA

    Gary Sayler Gary Sayler
    sayler@utk.edu
    Department of Microbiology
    UTK

    Neal StewartNeal Stewart
    nealstewart@utk.edu
    Department of Plant Sciences
    UTIA

    Cong TrinhCong Trinh
    ctrinh@utk.edu
    Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
    UTK

    (Back to Top)

    Renewable Energy


    Ralf DeiterdingRalf Deiterding
    deiterdingr@ornl.gov
    Computer Science and Mathematics Division
    ORNL

    Kivanc EkiciKivanc Ekici
    ekici@utk.edu
    Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering
    ORNL

    Bamin KhomamiBamin Khomami
    bkhomami@utk.edu
    Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
    UTK

    Chaitanya NarulaChaitanya Narula
    narulack@ornl.gov
    Materials Science and Technology Division
    ORNL

    Parans ParanthamanParans Paranthaman
    paranthamanm@ornl.gov
    Chemical Sciences Division
    ORNL

    David WoodDavid Wood
    wooddl@ornl.gov
    Materials Science and Technology Division
    ORNL

    (Back to Top)

    Energy Conversion and Storage


    Claus DanielClaus Daniel
    danielc@ornl.gov
    Materials Science and Technology Division
    ORNL

    Sergei KalininSergei Kalinin
    sergei2@ornl.gov
    Center for Nanophase Material Sciences
    ORNL

    Matthew Mench Matthew Mench
    mmench@utk.edu
    Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering
    UTK
    Joint faculty with ORNL

    Dr. Stephen PaddisonStephen Paddison
    spaddiso@utk.edu
    Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
    UTK

    Gary Van BerkelGary Van Berkel
    vanberkelgj@ornl.gov
    Chemical Sciences Division
    ORNL

    Tom Zawodzinski Tom Zawodzinski
    tzawodzi@utk.edu
    Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
    UTK
    Governor's Chair with ORNL

    (Back to Top)

    Energy Materials


    Suresh BabuSuresh Babu
    sbabu@utk.edu
    Department of Mechanical, Aerospace, and Biomedical Engineering;
    Department of Materials Science and Engineering
    UTK
    Governor's Chair with ORNL

    George PharrGeorge Pharr
    pharr@utk.edu
    Department of Materials Science and Engineering
    UTK

    Philip RackPhilip Rack
    prack@utk.edu
    Department of Materials Science and Engineering
    UTK

    (Back to Top)

    Distributed Energy and Grid Management


    Fangxing (Fran) LiFangxing (Fran) Li
    fli6@utk.edu
    Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    UTK

    Dr. Yilu LiuYilu Liu
    liu@utk.edu
    Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    UTK
    Governor's Chair with ORNL

    Arjun ShankarArjun Shankar
    shankarm@ornl.gov
    Computational Sciences and Engineering Division
    ORNL

    Leon TolbertLeon Tolbert
    tolbert@utk.edu
    Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    UTK

    Kevin TomsovicKevin Tomsovic
    tomsovic@tennessee.edu
    Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    UTK

    Fred WangFred Wang
    fred.wang@utk.edu
    Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    UTK
    Joint faculty with ORNL

    (Back to Top)

    Environmental and Climate Sciences


    Katherine EvansKatherine Evans
    evanskj@ornl.gov
    Climate Change Science Institute
    ORNL

    Joshua FuJoshua Fu
    jsfu@utk.edu
    Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
    UTK

    Jim HackJim Hack
    jhack@ornl.gov
    National Center for Computational Sciences
    ORNL

    Terry Hazen Terry Hazen
    tchazen@utk.edu
    Civil and Environmental Engineering; Microbiology
    UTK
    Governor's Chair with ORNL

    Rich NorbyRich Norby
    norbyrj@ornl.gov
    Environment Sciences Division
    ORNL

    Jack ParkerJack Parker
    jparker@utk.edu
    Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
    UTK

    Ed PerfectEd Perfect
    eperfect@utk.edu
    Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
    UTK

    (Back to Top)

    Energy Geography


    Budhu BhaduriBudhu Bhaduri
    bhaduribl@ornl.gov
    Computational Sciences and Engineering Division
    ORNL

    (Back to Top)

    Transportation Sciences


    Bob DevaultBob Devault
    rdevault@utk.edu
    Bredesen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education
    UTK

    Burak OzpineciBurak Ozpineci
    burak@ornl.gov
    Energy & Transportation Science Division
    ORNL

    Robert Wagner Robert Wagner
    wagnerrm@ornl.gov
    Energy and Transportation Science Division
    ORNL

    (Back to Top)

    Cross-cutting Areas Relating to Energy


    Craig BarnesCraig Barnes
    cebarnes@utk.edu
    Department of Chemistry
    UTK

    Gajanan BhatGajanan Bhat
    gbhat@utk.edu
    Department of Materials Science and Engineering
    UTK

    Subhadeep ChakrabortySubhadeep Chakraborty
    schakrab@utk.edu@utk.edu
    Department of Mechanical, Aerospace, and Biomedical Engineering
    UTK

    Panos DatskosPanos Datskos
    datskospg@ornl.gov
    Measurement Science and Systems Engineering Division
    ORNL

    Stuart DawStuart Daw
    dawcs@ornl.gov
    Energy and Transportation Science Division
    ORNL

    Mitch Doktycz Mitch Doktycz
    doktyczmj@ornl.gov
    Biosciences Division
    ORNL

    Dr. Shaun GleasonShaun Gleason
    gleasonss@ornl.gov
    Measurement Science and Systems Engineering Division
    ORNL

    Jian HuangJian Huang
    huangj@eecs.utk.edu
    Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
    UTK

    Dr. Travis HumbleTravis Humble
    humblets@ornl.gov
    Computer Science and Mathematics Divison
    ORNL

    Dr. Peter LiawPeter Liaw
    pliaw@utk.edu
    Department of Materials Science and Engineering
    UTK

    Steve NaglerSteve Nagler
    naglerse@ornl.gov
    Neutron Scattering Science Division
    ORNL

    Amit NaskarAmit Naskar
    naskarak@ornl.gov
    Materials Science & Technology Division
    ORNL

    Sreekanth PannalaSreekanth Pannala
    pannalas@ornl.gov
    Computer Science and Mathematics
    ORNL

    Dr. Rupy Sawhney Rupy Sawhney
    sawhney@utk.edu
    Department of Industrial Engineering
    UTK

    Mike Simpson Mike Simpson
    simpsonML1@ornl.gov
    Assistant Director of Bredesen Center
    Center for Nanophase Material Sciences
    ORNL
    Joint Faculty with UTK

    Bobby Sumpter Bobby Sumpter
    sumpterbg@ornl.gov
    Computer Science and Mathematics Division
    ORNL

    Steve Zinkle Steve Zinkle
    szinkle@utk.edu
    Department of Nuclear Engineering;
    Department of Materials Science and Engineering
    UTK
    Governor's Chair with ORNL

    (Back to Top)

    Download the Bredesen Center Faculty Handbook

     

    Apply Today!

    ORNL and UTK logos
    ORNLUTK
    TNSCORE

    Facebook Twitter LinkedIn RSS

    Contact Information

    Lee Riedinger
    Professor of Physics
    Director

    Mike Simpson
    Professor of Material Sciences and Engineering
    Assistant Director

    Wanda Davis
    Assistant to the Director
    443 Greve Hall
    821 Volunteer Blvd University of Tennessee
    Knoxville, TN 37996
    865-974-7999

    Ben Allen
    Coordinator & Recruiter
    418 Greve Hall
    821 Volunteer Blvd University of Tennessee
    Knoxville, TN 37996
    865-974-9374

    Fax: 865-974-9482

    bredesencenter@utk.edu