Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee
Bredesen Center for Interdisciplinary Research and Graduate Education (UTK-ORNL)

Frequently Used Tools:




ITER 3D plasma equilibrium
This figure shows the ITER plasma surface and toroidal magnetic field coils.
Bioenergy
An atomistic model of cellulose (blue) surrounded by lignin molecules (green) comprising of a total of 3.3 million atoms.
Energy
Global water vapor
The proper simulation of the distribution of water vapor in the climate system is essential to the accurate treatment of the hydrological cycle and the planetary radiation budget.


Bredesen Center Graduate Students

  • Biochemistry, Cellular, and Molecular Biology
  • Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Energy Science and Engineering
  • Materials Science and Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Nuclear Engineering
  • Distinguished Graduate Fellows
  • Biochemistry, Cellular, and Molecular Biology


    Meng LiMeng Li
    mli19@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Biochemistry, Cellular, and Molecular Biology

    Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering


    Alan PezeshkiAlan Pezeshki
    apez@utk.edu
    Energy Conversion and Storage
    Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

    Kyle SanderKyle Sander
    ksande26@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

    Electrical Engineering


    Edward JonesEdward Jones
    edward.jones@utk.edu
    Distributed Energy and Grid Management
    Electrical Engineering

    Energy Science and Engineering


    Syeda Mariya AbsarSyeda Mariya Absar
    sabsar1@vols.utk.edu
    Environmental and Climate Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Christine AjinjeruChristine Ajinjeru
    cajinjer@vols.utk.edu
    Energy Materials
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Seong Jin AnSeong Jin An
    san2@vols.utk.edu
    Energy Storage and Conversion
    Energy Science and Engineering

    John AndersonJohn Anderson
    jander43@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering
    TN-SCORE Energy Scholar

    Jayde AufrechtJayde Aufrecht
    jaufrech@vols.utk.edu
    Environmental and Climate Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Jeff BeegleJeff Beegle
    jbeegle1@vols.utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Tony BovaTony Bova
    abova@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering
    TN-SCORE Energy Scholar

    Jamieson BrechtlJamieson Brechtl
    jbrechtl@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Robert BreseRobert Brese
    rbrese@vols.utk.edu
    Energy Materials
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Keith BrittKeith Britt
    kbritt2@utk.edu
    Cross-Cutting Energy Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Kristine CabugaoKristine Cabugao
    kcabugao@vols.utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Maria Fernanda CampaMaria Fernanda Campa
    mcampa@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Patrick CaveneyPatrick Caveney
    pcaveney@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Julie CeaseJulie Cease
    jcease@vols.utk.edu
    Energy Materials
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Charles ChinCharles Chin
    cchin@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Mark ChristianMark Christian
    mchris18@utk.edu
    Hydroelectric Flow Measurement
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Emily ClarkEmily Clark
    ebuckman@utk.edu
    Cross-Cutting Energy Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Mary Alice CusentinoMary Alice Cusentino
    mcusenti@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Victoria DiStefanoVictoria DiStefano
    vdistefa@utk.edu
    Environmental and Climate Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Kassie ErnstKassie Ernst
    kassie.ernst@utk.edu
    Environmental and Climate Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Anthony GianfrancescoAnthony Gianfrancesco
    agianfra@utk.edu
    Cross-Cutting Energy Science
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Callie GoetzCallie Goetz
    kgoetz@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Chris HartnettChris Hartnett
    chrishartnett@utk.edu
    Energy Materials
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Hoi Chun HoHoi Chun Ho
    hho5@vols.utk.edu
    Biofuels and Bioenergy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Nannan JiangNannan Jiang
    njiang3@utk.edu
    Bioenergy & Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Steven JonesSteven Jones
    sjone115@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Vidya KishoreVidya Kishore
    vkishore@vols.utk.edu
    Energy Materials
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Justin KnowlesJustin Knowles
    knowles@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Mallory LaddMallory Ladd
    mladd5@utk.edu
    Environmental and Climate Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Travis LangeTravis Lange
    tlange@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Roisin LanganRoisin Langan
    rlangan1@vols.utk.edu
    Environmental and Climate Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Zachary LangfordZachary Langford
    zlangfor@vols.utk.edu
    Environmental and Climate Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Andrew LeporeAndrew Lepore
    alepore1@utk.edu
    Energy Storage and Conversion
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Alex LewisAlex Lewis
    alewis53@utk.edu
    Bioenergy & Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering
    TN-SCORE Energy Scholar

    Congyi LiCongyi Li
    cli26@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Yunchao LiYunchao Li
    yli107@utk.edu
    Energy Conversion and Storage
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Chang Liu
    cliu62@vols.utk.edu
    Energy Conversion and Storage
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Kun LouKun Lou
    klou@vols.utk.edu
    Energy Conversion and Storage
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Jeff LuxJeff Lux
    jlux1@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Artem MaksovArtem Maksov
    amaksov@utk.edu
    Energy Materials
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Katherine ManzKatherine Manz
    kmanz1@utk.edu
    Environmental and Climate Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Bill McClinticBill McClintic
    wmcclint@vols.utk.edu
    Energy Materials
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Carly McKownCarly McKown
    cmckown@vols.utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    John Izaak MillerJohn Izaak Miller
    jmill165@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Ben MohrBen Mohr
    bmohr2@vols.utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Robert MoseleyRobert Moseley
    rmosele4@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Eric MuckleyEric Muckley
    emuckley@vols.utk.edu
    Energy Materials
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Eva MutungaEva Mutunga
    emutunga@vols.utk.edu
    Energy Materials
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Kristian MyhreKristian Myhre
    kmyhre@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Liz NorredLiz Norred
    snorred@utk.edu
    Cross-Cutting Energy Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Akinola OyedeleAkinola Oyedele
    aoyedele@utk.edu
    Renewable Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Blake PallesBlake Palles
    bpalles@vols.utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Beth PapanekBeth Papanek
    bpapanek@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Esther ParrishEsther Parrish
    esulliva@utk.edu
    Environmental and Climate Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Alex PawlowskiAlex Pawlowski
    apawlows@vols.utk.edu
    Transportation Science
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Kumaraguru PrabakarKumaraguru Prabakar
    kprabaka@utk.edu
    Distributed Energy and Grid Management
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Narendran RaghavanNarendran Raghavan
    nraghava@utk.edu
    Cross-Cutting Energy Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Emilio RamirezEmilio Ramirez
    eramirez@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Mike RichardsMike Richards
    mricha44@vols.utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Asa RoyAsa Roy
    aroy4@utk.edu
    Renewable Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Pranab Kanti Roy ChowdhuryPranab Kanti Roy Chowdhury
    proychow@vols.utk.edu
    Energy Geography
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Zach SeibersZach Seibers
    zseibers@utk.edu
    Renewable Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering
    TN-SCORE Energy Scholar

    Riddhi Shah
    rshah10@vols.utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Peter ShanklesPeter Shankles
    pshankle@utk.edu
    Cross-Cutting Energy Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Ben ShassereBen Shassere
    bshasser@utk.edu
    Cross-Cutting Energy Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Guinevere ShawGuinevere Shaw
    gshaw2@utk.edu
    Plasma Material Interactions
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Patrick ShowerPatrick Shower
    pshower@vols.utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Melissa “Missy” ShowersMelissa “Missy” Showers
    mshower1@vols.utk.edu
    Renewable Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Stephen SignoreStephen Signore
    ssignore@utk.edu
    Hydropower Asset Management
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Mitchell SmithMitchell Smith
    msmit258@utk.edu
    Distributed Energy and Grid Management
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Niyanth SridharanNiyanth Sridharan
    sniyanth@utk.edu
    Energy Materials
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Susanna SutherlandSusanna Sutherland
    ssutherl@utk.edu
    Environmental and Climate Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Kemper TalleyKemper Talley
    ktalley5@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Humaira TazHumaira Taz
    htaz@utk.edu
    Renewable Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Adam ThompsonAdam Thompson
    rthomp46@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Micah TillMicah Till
    mtill@utk.edu
    Electrical Engineering
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Jennifer TrumboJennifer Trumbo
    jtrumbo@utk.edu
    Environmental and Climate Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Anna WanhalaAnna Wanhala
    awanhala@vols.utk.edu
    Renewable Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Deborah WeighillDeborah Weighill
    dweighil@vols.utk.edu
    Renewable Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Tracey WellingtonTracey Wellington
    twelling@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering
    GEM Fellow

    Reed WittmanReed Wittman
    rwittma1@utk.edu
    Energy Storage and Conversion
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Stephen WoodStephen Wood
    swood19@utk.edu
    Renewable Energy
    Energy Science and Engineering
    TN-SCORE Energy Scholar

    Tong WuTong Wu
    twu11@utk.edu
    Transportation Sciences
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Ernesto ZuletaErnesto Zuleta
    ezuleta@utk.edu
    Bioenergy and Biofuels
    Energy Science and Engineering

    Materials Science and Engineering


    Sietske BarnesSietske Barnes
    sbarne11@utk.edu
    Energy Materials
    Materials Science and Engineering

    Amanda HaglundAmanda Haglund
    ahaglund@utk.edu
    Energy Materials
    Materials Science and Engineering

    Mechanical Engineering


    Andrew BurchAndrew Burch
    aburch2@utk.edu
    Energy Storage and Conversion
    Mechanical Engineering

    Jacob HouserJacob Houser
    jhouse11@utk.edu
    Energy Storage and Conversion
    Mechanical Engineering

    Andrew KaminskyAndrew Kaminsky
    akamins1@utk.edu
    Energy Storage and Conversion
    Mechanical Engineering

    Nuclear Engineering


    Timothy JacksonTimothy Jackson
    tjacks24@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Nuclear Engineering

    Erik WalkerErik Walker
    ewalk@utk.edu
    Nuclear Energy
    Nuclear Engineering

    (Back to Top)

    Distinguished Graduate Fellowship


    Jerel CullissJerel Culliss
    julliss@utk.edu
    Electrical Engineering

    Tom DalyTom Daly
    tdaly1@utk.edu
    Nuclear Engineering

    Anthony WongAnthony Wong
    awong7@utk.edu
    Materials Science and Engineering

    (Back to Top)

               

     

    Apply Today!

    ORNL and UTK logos
    ORNLUTK
    TNSCORE

    Facebook Twitter LinkedIn RSS

    Contact Information

    Lee Riedinger
    Professor of Physics
    Director

    Mike Simpson
    Professor of Material Sciences and Engineering
    Assistant Director

    Wanda Davis
    Administrative Coordinator
    Assistant to the Director
    443 Greve Hall
    821 Volunteer Blvd. University of Tennessee
    Knoxville, TN 37996
    865-974-7999

    Jessica Garner
    Advisor
    418 Greve Hall
    821 Volunteer Blvd.
    University of Tennessee
    Knoxville, TN 37996
    865-974-9374

    Fax: 865-974-9482

    bredesencenter@utk.edu